Results of the Super Qualifier

Posted: March 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was the ROC (Realms Open Championship) Super Qualifier at Big Bang Comics in Owensboro, KY. 66 opponents attended, some driving several hundred miles to participate. Myself and two of my crew went. The team break downs were as follows:

XCinX (myself)-
Dark Phoenix @ 100 points
Bizzaro @ 100 points
Brother Voodoo @ 79 points
Utility Belt @ 14 points (On Brother Voodoo)
Total 293

Xyn-
Fantomex @ 142 points
Bizzaro @ 75 points
Cerise @ 60 points
Utility Belt @ 14 points (On Fantomex)
Total 291

DracoMeowfloy-
Fantomex @ 142 points
Cerise @ 60 points
Oracle @ 49 points
Infinity Gauntlet @ 40 points (On Cerise)
Total 291

I ended up 2-3, Xyn ended up 2-3, and Draco ened up 3-2 in the swiss rounds. Draco’s score managed to get him into the Top 16 cut, where the format switched to single elimination. He unfortunately was knocked out in the first round. His over all score netted him the #14 spot, winning a “Superman and Legion of Superheroes” booster, a set of dice/tokens and 3 points for the ROC series. Sadly, our other scores didn’t even qualify us for Top 32.

I had some good matches. My biggest issues where not reading my card in one match and not realizing that Bizzaro could auto-break away. That single handily cost me a match as time was called moments after he was KO’d (I would have won on points). The second time I forgot about it but it wouldn’t have mattered, but it could have helped. The other thing that cost me was my map selection. I rolled with the “Wayne Manor” map from ‘No Man’s Land’, Quake side. I thought the extra hindering terrain would help with the Stealth provided by Bat Cloak on the Belt. However, the indoor areas provided my opponent’s with unforeseen hiding areas.

It was a humbling experience, for sure, as this was my first major event. Hopefully this is not a sign of things to come.

Leave a Reply

