Went to the Magic the Gathering Dragons of Tarkir Prelease at Comic Quest last night (this morning?) and it was definitely not what I was expecting.  

With 51 players in attendance, I think I finished 38th or 39th.  The said part is that that placement is still after 15-20 players dropped.  Heck, I even had to eventually drop due to the 6th round (final round before top cut) was to start at 7am and I had to work.  But I would have been going into Round 6 with a 1-4 record. 

Played a side event with my good friend Scott, I which he thoroughly whooped my ass.  The only thing I did win at this event was a pinball/whack-a-mole style game Wizard’s put together.  You threw your die to knock down little tokens, each worth a variety of points. Land in the center, get double the points.  I got 20 points on my first throw, good for all 4 of the alternate art promos.  That was also the high score for the night until Scott rolled…a 36. 

All in all, win or lose, it was a fun event.  I had never played Magic in any kind of formal setting or environment, so it was interesting.  Lessons where learned.  We’ll see where that leads us.

Leave a Reply

